Wednesday 20, 2018 2:00 PM By Best Bets

Peter Snowden said this week that Saturday’s Tatt’s Tiara boasts “as good a field as seen in Brisbane for 10 years”.

Quibblers might point to the 2011 BTC Cup, where Black Caviar beat Hay List and Buffering, with Black Piranha and Sniper’s Bullet unplaced.

But, with four Group 1 winners engaged, Saturday’s field can lay claims to being the best Tatt’s Tiara line-up assembled for some years.

It’s certainly superior to last year’s field, where the only Group 1 winner going into the race was Miss Cover Girl — and her sole major win was the previous year’s Tatt’s Tiara.

You have to go back to 2014 to find a Tiara where four Group 1 winners were engaged.

The only runnings of the race to feature five major winners were 2007 (the year it was elevated to Group 1) and 2009.

Given that the Tatt’s Tiara (nee Winter Stakes) is a weight-for-age affair rather than a handicap or penalties race, you’d think past Group 1 winners would do well in it.

In fact, their record is mixed. Since 2007, 30 established Group 1 winners have run in the race for three wins — to Melito (2010), Yosei (2011) and Srikandi (2015).

Looking for the winner this Saturday, it might be more useful to note that nine of the 11 winners since 2007 have finished fifth or better at their previous start, and four of the past six have been last-start winners.

Tycoon Tara last year became the first six-year-old winner in the Tiara’s 29-year history.

Before her, the honour roll comprised 15 three-year-olds, nine four-year-olds and four five-year-olds.

While four of the past eight Tiaras have been won from gates 12, 14, 16 and 15, those races were run at Eagle Farm or Gold Coast.

Last year (at Doomben) Tycoon Tara jumped from 3.